The Trustees of the Conway School confer honorary degrees upon individuals who have made a significant contribution to the sustainability of landscapes and communities around the world. These honorees are an important part of Conway’s extended community.

Honorary degree recipients with Conway alums.

Honorary degree recipients Majora Carter (left) and Nancy Jack Todd (3rd from left) are joined by Conway alums Ginny Sullivan (2nd from left) and Mollie Babize (right).

  • Mr. Randall Arendt (2008), Conservation planner and designer, Author of Growing Greener: Putting Conservation into Local Plans and Ordinances, Narragansett, RI
  • Mr. David Bird (2009, posthumous), Economist, linguist, political consultant, and social activist
  • Mr. Keith Bowers (2008), Founder & President, Biohabitats, Inc., Baltimore, MD
  • Ms. Majora Carter (2011), President, Majora Carter Group, Bronx, NY
  • Dr. Darron Collins (2013), Ethnobotanist, Conservationist, Ecologist, and President, College of the Atlantic, Bar Harbor, ME
  • Dr. Jill Conway (2010), President Emerita, Smith College; Visiting Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA
  • Mr. Rick Darke (2009), Author, Photographer, Horticulturalist, Landenberg, PA
  • Ms. Charlotte Elton (2007), Director of Sustainability, Panamanian Center for Research and Social Action, Panama City
  • Mr. Warren F. Flint Jr. (2015, posthumous), Conservationist and farmer, Concord, MA
  • Dr. Richard T.T. Forman (2009), PAES Professor of Advanced Environmental Studies in Landscape Ecology, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA
  • Ms. Carol Franklin (2012), Founding Principal, Andropogon Associates, Philadelphia, PA
  • Ms. Wendi Goldsmith ‘90 (2007), President, The Bioengineering Group Inc., Salem, MA
  • Mr. Bill McKibben (2012), Author, educator, environmentalist; Founder,; Scholar in residence, Middlebury College, Middlebury, VT
  • Dr. John W. Olver (2014), former Congressman, Amherst, MA
  • Dr. David W. Orr (2006), Paul Sears Distinguished Professor of Environmental Studies and Politics and Chair, Environmental Studies Program, Oberlin College, Oberlin, OH
  • Sr. Enrique Peñalosa (2014), international urban design and planning consultant; former mayor, Bogota, Colombia
  • Mr. Will Raap (2009), Founder, Gardener’s Supply and Intervale Foundation, Burlington, VT
  • Prof. Anne Whiston Spirn (2010), Professor of Landscape Architecture and Planning, Departments of Architecture and Urban Studies and Planning, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA
  • Dr. John Todd (2008), Inventor of the “Living Machine”; Founder & President, Ocean Arks International; The Rubenstein School of Environmental & Natural Resources, University of Vermont, Burlington, VT
  • Ms. Nancy Jack Todd (2011), Co-founder & Vice President, Ocean Arks International, Co-founder, New Alchemy Institute; Editor, Annals of Earth, Falmouth, MA
  • Mr. Greg Watson (2015), Director of Policy & Systems Design, Schumacher Center for a New Economics, Great Barrington, MA

Please note: Titles and positions are as they were at the time the honorary degree was conferred.